Congressional Voting Rights Caucus Co-Chairs Response to President Biden’s Speech on Voting Rights

Jul 15, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON – The co-chairs of the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus issued the following statement in response to President Joe Biden’s speech on voting rights today. The co-chairs of the Congressional Voting Rights Caucus are: Congresswoman Terri Sewell (AL-07), Congressman Bobby Scott (VA-03), Congressman Marc Veasey (TX-33), and Congresswoman Nikema Williams (GA-05). 

“We thank President Biden for highlighting the need to act now to protect the right to vote,” the Co-Chairs said. “Democracy is currently under assault in ways we have not seen in generations in an effort to validate the Big Lie. This has been made clear by the Texas legislature’s repeated attempts to enact restrictive, anti-voter laws, Georgia's new Jim Crow 2.0 law going into effect, and nearly 400 pieces of voter suppression legislation introduced in 48 states. These sweeping restrictions being enacted by Republican state legislatures demonstrate that the restoration of federal oversight is urgently needed. The most powerful way we can fight back against these authoritarian tactics is by passing H.R. 1, the For the People Act, and H.R. 4, the John R. Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act using every tool available. We look forward to working with President Biden and Vice President Harris to secure passage of these bills so that every American has the same free and fair access to the ballot, no matter their state or their ZIP code.”